Bambaşka Biri, Dilek Taşı, Safir and Kirli Sepeti Trailer Review Part 2/2 — Day 24/30

Eda Savaseri
4 min readAug 25, 2023

--

My relationship with dizis.

Let’s continue what we started yesterday and talk about some new trailers. For the first part of this blog post, you can click here.

Safir (Sapphire) is a drama which will take place in Cappadocia. It’s a about a love story that is forced to stay hidden and also about the Gülsoy family whose lives change in one night. The leading cast consists of İlhan Şen, Özge Yağız and Burak Berkay Akgül. I already know this dizi will serve us beautiful shots of the area. The director is one of mu favorites, who also directed Son Yaz, Semih Bağcı. The writer is Burcu Över who is famous for Kaderimin Oyunu, Kırgın Çiçekler and Aşk Ağlatır.

I think the trailer for the series does a good job of creating curiosity for what we will see from this story. It is clear that this is an angsty drama with a lot of shift in power as the story goes along. I think Özge Yağız has really matured as an actress since her “Yemin” days. I am not sure what İlhan’s role will be. I can already see this has a huge supporting cast and we should expect many storylines that weave into the main plot. All in all this looks good. You can watch the trailer here.

My friends listening to my terrible jokes!

Kirli Sepeti is the story of three women who work in the same apartment building and work as cleaning ladies. They work in a very rich neighborhood and work for wealthy people. This dizi will show us their day to day lives and how their relationships with their employers. Honestly I’m thrilled to finally watch a dizi with female leads and with such a powerful trio (Ayça Bingöl, Ceren Moray, Cansu Tosun). The rest of the cast looks very promising too (Halil İbrahim Ceyhan, Serkay Tütüncü, Bestemsu Özdemir)!

I love the trailer! We get to see the mahalle (neighborhood) they live in and we are introduced to the three women whose lives we’ll be watching as they unfold. The only downside is that it’s on Fox and it’s something new and fresh. I know the stories about rich vs. poor are not groundbreaking but this genuinely looks refreshing to me considering other dizis in this season’s lineup. You can watch the trailer here. Also 10 points for the subtitles in English. :)

It’s all fun and games until you remember you’re poor. :(

Just today a new trailer came out for Yabani which I thought was on the same vein as Kirli Sepeti came out. So I wanted to include it here as a bonus. If you’ve seen Paper Lives on Netflix with Çağatay Ulusoy, that could give you some context about what Halit Özgür Sarı and friends are doing. Turkey has a paper waste problem. I think the kids and young men who pick up these paper waste and sell them are doing God’s work because they are single handedly helping the recycling Turkey has to do. In Yabani’s stories Halit Özgür Sarı’s character is actually from a rich family but somehow ended up living on the streets and as many kids that are homeless she picks up and sells paper waste.

I really liked the trailer and the song choice, Yaz Dostum from Barış Manço. The name of the song actually means write this down my friend (which kind of means keep this in mind). The lyrics say if you see a poor person you must feed them and if you see an orphan you must protect them, if you see someone without clothes you must dress them. I think it’s a very dynamic and fun way of letting us in on the story which at its base if quite tragic. Interesting how both Kirli Sepeti and Yabani have this rich vs. poor theme going on. Can’t wait to see more from them. You can watch the trailer for Yabani here.

So, now let me tell you between these 5 trailers, which one is my favorite. Honestly it was almost a tie between Dilek Taşı and Kirli Sepeti but I’ll think I’ll go for the first one. Now it’s your turn, which trailer did you like the most. Let me know. See you on tomorrow’s blog post on day 25!

--

--

Eda Savaseri

I'm a copywriter from Istanbul. I love writing about Turkish TV shows, TV series, movies, literature. Follow me for analysis and/or reviews.